Conscious Eating

I woke up this morning and realized I have been in a bit of a fog.  I have been working hard getting content developed for my new website being launched in August, writing newsletters, recording podcasts etc.  I have been getting an amazing amount done but yet somehow I have been feeling a little disconnected.

One of the sure ways I know that I am disconnected with me is when I  eat unconsciously

I have had several meals lately in front of the computer or standing at the kitchen counter.  There have been times in the past week where I have eaten my entire meal without realizing it and I have not tasted a thing. Last night, I made a bowl of popcorn and added lots of butter and proceeded to eat the whole thing in record time while watching TV.  I could not believe it when I noticed it was all done. I went to bed not feeling great.  When I woke up this morning I really woke up i.e. became conscious of my disconnection to myself.

What do I really want – I want to have a great relationship with my body and make a conscious decision when I eat to be in relationship with the food I am eating, be conscious of the act of eating and know that I am eating foods that are the best for me

In this moment: What can I do right now – Breathe and be gentle on myself.  I want to acknowledge what I have been doing well – I have been eating gluten free for the past three weeks without difficulty, I am drinking more water, I stopped eating those potatoes the other night (that does not happen often), and I have cut back on caffeine. There have been many other positive things as well.

In this moment: What do I notice?  – I notice that when I recognize my eating is not what I would like it to be, I start to beat myself up and notice all that I don’t do.  However, when I start to list what I do well, I acknowledge myself,  and feel more connected with my humanness.  Many of my eating habits are just that, habits that I am changing over time.  What I do know is that I am much more conscious of what I am eating and when I am eating than I have ever been before

For years, my relationship with food was very unhealthy.  I would always be on the lookout for pastries, breads, desserts etc. and I realized I would go to food to stuff my feelings and avoid being real.  I would either be in overload with food or would deny myself what I wanted.  I was obsessed with my weight and focused on what I should not eat vs what I wanted to eat. When I look back on the way I used to be with food and how I am now (most of the time), I see how far I have come in my quest to eat more consciously.  As I shed my old habits, and shift my beliefs about my relationship with food, I am amazed how much better I feel.

The biggest part of conscious eating is relationship with yourself. Spend time in appreciation of your body and all it does for you. Nurture it and be kind. After all, it has taken you this far and you need it to be there for the duration.

Take care all and I will blog with you later.

Gerrianne

Explore posts in the same categories: Connection, Getting Grounded, Health and Wellness

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

