What Legacy Will You Leave?

This past weekend, we attended the funeral for a colleague and friend of my husband.  I had met him a couple of times over the years and I knew his wife casually.  It was a sad day.  He left behind a wife and two young children as well as a whole community of family and friends.  As I sat in the church listening to the words spoken about this man, I was reminded of Stephen Covey’s “7 Habits of Highly Effective People” when he suggests “we begin with the end in mind”.  What legacy do you want to leave behind? This man had lived life fully, he played hard, worked hard and loved his family deeply which was evident in all of the tributes paid to him in that full church. I imagine he would be pleased with how he was remembered.

This past year, I have seen first hand how cancer has affected 5 people whom I am close to.  Two of these people have done well with their treatments and are back to life as before, a little wiser and more aware of the fragility of life.   Two of these people are still struggling with their disease and are holding steadfast for healthy outcomes.  My thoughts, prayers and intentions are with them.  The fifth succumbed to their disease after 20 years of living with cancer.  Life throws us many challenges and from these we grow.

What about you?  Where are you in your life?  Are you living your life in integrity with the legacy you want to leave behind?  What is important to you? These questions are not the kind that you can just rattle off the answers to while driving the kids to soccer or off the side of your desk.  These are soul searching questions that require some time and commitment to answer. For my 5 friends, they have had a wake up call to let them know about their own mortality.  Yet for many others, they are living their lives as if they will never die.  What about you?

So my challenge to you is:

Take the time to get connected with you.

Go for a walk or sit quietly in nature and dedicate time to answer these questions,

Reflect on your life,

Ask yourself – how do I want to be remembered by my family, friends, colleagues and associates?

Am I living my life the way I want to live my life.

If not, what do I want to change?

Take care and I will blog with you next week.

Gerrianne

Explore posts in the same categories: Connection, In This Moment

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

